Granule budget twin

granulocyte, alive: the cell keeps working while you watch. Every motion runs at a rate from a source, and the panel below drives it.

This stage needs the page's JavaScript, and it has not arrived. If this line stays, the page was served but its script was not: reload, and if it persists the dev server's dependency cache is stale.

Control panel

Four granule populations as volume: move the sliders and the budget, per-compartment readouts, and release fractions follow.

Total granule volume

29.5 um3

0.96 to 180 um3 across the sourced ranges. No sourced capacity for this quantity, so the bar places this cell between the smallest and the largest the sourced ranges allow, on a log scale.

Sphere-volume sum over the four granule compartments. This is what the neutrophil carries into an infection site and spends on degranulation.

source 1source 2,

Inputs

50 to 400 · human, marrow and blood neutrophils · electron microscopy · Bainton DF et al. 1971, J Exp Med · source

200 per cell from Bainton 1971 TEM; slider default matches twin-body count; range is parametric above and below the sourced value

0.15 to 0.45 um · human, marrow and blood neutrophils · electron microscopy · Bainton DF et al. 1971, J Exp Med · source

azurophilic granules are the largest compartment; range thin from abstract

100 to 600 · human neutrophil · review · Faurschou M, Borregaard N 2003, Microbes Infect · source

approximately 400 per cell; specific granules are the most numerous compartment; slider default matches twin-body count; range is parametric above and below the sourced value

0.08 to 0.2 um · human, marrow and blood neutrophils · electron microscopy · Bainton DF et al. 1971, J Exp Med · source

smaller than azurophilic granules; range thin from abstract

25 to 200 · human neutrophil · review · Faurschou M, Borregaard N 2003, Microbes Infect · source

approximately 100 per cell; formed last in maturation; slider default matches twin-body count; range is parametric above and below the sourced value

0.07 to 0.2 um · human neutrophil · review · Faurschou M, Borregaard N 2003, Microbes Infect · source

similar size to specific granules; thin from abstract

10 to 100 · human neutrophil · review · Faurschou M, Borregaard N 2003, Microbes Infect · source

approximately 50 per cell; smallest and most easily released compartment; slider default matches twin-body count; range is parametric above and below the sourced value

20 to 40 um · mouse cremaster venule · intravital fluorescence microscopy · Li YT et al. 2019, eLife · source

Vessels of 20 to 40 um in diameter observed during neutrophil rolling and arrest in mouse cremaster muscle (Li 2019, Methods). Default 30 um is the midpoint. Human post-capillary venule range is analogous; thin: species is mouse, not direct human measurement.

0.04 to 0.12 um · human neutrophil · review · Faurschou M, Borregaard N 2003, Microbes Infect · source

secretory vesicles are the smallest compartment; thin from abstract

Readouts

Azurophilic compartment volume
22.6 um3
0.707 to 153 um3 propagated
human neutrophil · sphere-volume geometry on sourced ranges  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Specific compartment volume
5.65 um3
0.214 to 20.1 um3 propagated
human neutrophil · sphere-volume geometry on sourced ranges  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Gelatinase compartment volume
1.15 um3
0.036 to 6.7 um3 propagated
human neutrophil · sphere-volume geometry on sourced ranges  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Secretory vesicle compartment volume
0.107 um3
0.003 to 0.724 um3 propagated
human neutrophil · sphere-volume geometry on sourced ranges  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Total granule volume
29.5 um3
29.5 to 29.5 um3 propagated
human neutrophil · sphere-volume geometry, all four compartments  · source 1 · source 2
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Azurophilic fraction of granule volume
76.6 %
76.6 to 76.6 % propagated
human neutrophil · derived from compartment volumes  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.
Mobilisation-first fraction
4.26 %
4.26 to 4.26 % propagated
human neutrophil · secretory vesicles and gelatinase granules are the first two compartments released on activation (Faurschou and Borregaard 2003); this is their combined fraction of the total budget  · source 1
Interval from evaluating at the ends of each input range; assumes the formula moves one way in each input.

Withheld

Granule protein density (g per mL)
No sourced measured value for total granule protein concentration in human neutrophils; Lominadze 2005 gives a proteomics catalogue but not a bulk density
Degranulation half-time (seconds)
No sourced value for the half-time of individual compartment release in intact human neutrophils under physiological activation; cell-free kinetics do not map to the intact cell

Sources

Research use only. Every number here is geometry on published ranges, not a measurement of any individual.

Substances tested 10

All substances →
Filgrastim (recombinant methionyl G-CSF) granulocyte colony-stimulating factor
acts on G-CSF receptor on neutrophil progenitors and mature neutrophils
Reduced chemotherapy-induced febrile neutropenia: at least one episode of fever with neutropenia in 40 percent of the G-CSF group versus 77 percent on placebo (p less than 0.001). Median duration of grade IV neutropenia (ANC under 0.5 x 10^9 per L) was one day with G-CSF versus six days with placebo.
dose: beginning day 4 through day 17 of a 21-day cycle; milligram dose not stated in the abstract  · human, 211 patients with small-cell lung cancer  · multicentre randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial  · Crawford J et al. 1991, N Engl J Med  · source
Mepolizumab anti-interleukin-5 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-5, the cytokine driving eosinophil production and survival
Reduced clinically significant exacerbations in severe eosinophilic asthma from 2.40 per patient per year on placebo to 1.24 at 75 mg (48 percent reduction, 95 percent CI 31 to 61, p less than 0.0001), 1.46 at 250 mg (39 percent reduction) and 1.15 at 750 mg (52 percent reduction, 36 to 64, p less than 0.0001).
dose: 75 mg, 250 mg or 750 mg intravenous, 13 infusions at 4-week intervals  · human, 621 patients aged 12 to 74  · multicentre double-blind placebo-controlled trial (DREAM), 81 centres in 13 countries  · Pavord ID et al. 2012, Lancet  · source
Mepolizumab anti-interleukin-5 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-5
Exacerbation rate reduced 47 percent (95 percent CI 29 to 61) with intravenous and 53 percent (37 to 65) with subcutaneous dosing versus placebo (p less than 0.001 for both). Exacerbations needing emergency care or hospitalisation fell 32 percent (intravenous) and 61 percent (subcutaneous). FEV1 at week 32 rose 100 mL more than placebo on the intravenous arm.
dose: 75 mg intravenous or 100 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks for 32 weeks  · human, 576 patients  · randomised double-blind double-dummy trial (MENSA)  · Ortega HG et al. 2014, N Engl J Med  · source
Benralizumab anti-interleukin-5 receptor alpha monoclonal antibody
acts on IL-5 receptor alpha on eosinophils; depletes eosinophils by antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity
In patients with blood eosinophils at least 300 cells per uL, the annual exacerbation rate over 48 weeks fell versus placebo on both schedules: rate ratio 0.55 (95 percent CI 0.42 to 0.71, p less than 0.0001) every 4 weeks and 0.49 (0.37 to 0.64, p less than 0.0001) every 8 weeks.
dose: 30 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks, or every 8 weeks after three loading doses at 4-week intervals, for 48 weeks  · human, 1205 randomised patients aged 12 to 75  · randomised double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial (SIROCCO), 374 sites in 17 countries  · Bleecker ER et al. 2016, Lancet  · source
Imatinib tyrosine kinase inhibitor
acts on FIP1L1-PDGFRalpha fusion kinase; 50 percent inhibitory concentration 3.2 nM
Nine of 11 patients with hypereosinophilic syndrome had responses lasting more than three months with the eosinophil count returning to normal. The FIP1L1-PDGFRA fusion, from an interstitial deletion on chromosome 4q12, was found in 9 of 16 patients and in 5 of the 9 durable responders. A T674I mutation at relapse confirmed the fusion kinase as the drug target.
dose: not stated in the abstract  · human, 11 patients treated  · clinical treatment series with molecular characterisation  · Cools J et al. 2003, N Engl J Med  · source
Dupilumab anti-interleukin-4 receptor alpha monoclonal antibody
acts on IL-4 receptor alpha, blocking IL-4 and IL-13 signalling upstream of eosinophil recruitment
Histologic remission in eosinophilic esophagitis reached 60 percent (25 of 42) on weekly dupilumab versus 5 percent (2 of 39) on placebo in Part A (difference 55 percentage points, 95 percent CI 40 to 71, p less than 0.001), and 59 percent weekly versus 6 percent placebo in Part B.
dose: 300 mg subcutaneous weekly, or 300 mg every 2 weeks, to week 24  · human, patients aged 12 and over  · three-part randomised phase 3 trial  · Dellon ES et al. 2022, N Engl J Med  · source
Tozorakimab anti-interleukin-33 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-33, upstream of both eosinophilic and neutrophilic airway inflammation
In two replicate phase 3 COPD trials, annualised moderate or severe exacerbations among former smokers fell from 1.90 to 1.34 events (rate ratio 0.71, 95 percent CI 0.57 to 0.88, p = 0.002) in OBERON and from 2.07 to 1.37 (rate ratio 0.66, 0.55 to 0.80, p less than 0.001) in TITANIA. There were no eligibility criteria related to blood eosinophil count.
dose: 300 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks for 52 weeks  · human, 1750 patients across two trials  · two replicate randomised placebo-controlled phase 3 trials (OBERON and TITANIA)  · Sciurba FC et al. 2026, N Engl J Med  · source
Dornase alfa (recombinant human DNase I) mucolytic nuclease
acts on extracellular DNA in airway secretions, much of it neutrophil-derived
Across 19 trials with 2565 participants, dornase alfa probably improved FEV1 versus placebo in trials from one month to two years, with a decrease in pulmonary exacerbations in trials of six months or longer. Voice alteration and rash were the only adverse events reported at increased frequency. Evidence was insufficient to place it above other hyperosmolar agents.
dose: not stated in the abstract; trial duration ranged from six days to three years  · human, 2565 participants with cystic fibrosis  · Cochrane systematic review of randomised and quasi-randomised trials  · Yang C, Montgomery M 2021, Cochrane Database Syst Rev  · source

Every row rests on a PubMed abstract read in full by Granulo on 2026-09-12; a dose the abstract does not state is written as such, never guessed. Research reference, not medical advice.

Public datasets 7

GSE193117 bulk RNA-seq, 94 samples Homo sapiens
RNA-seq analysis of resting and inflamed human neutrophils
Grieshaber-Bouyer R et al. 2022, Ann Rheum Dis  · paper  · public at NCBI GEO; NCBI data are free to use with attribution, no licence text of its own  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE165276 single-cell RNA-seq, 7 samples Mus musculus
Single-cell RNA sequencing of healthy and inflamed murine neutrophils
Grieshaber-Bouyer R et al. 2021, Nat Commun (the neutrotime signature)  · paper  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE194366 expression profiling, 9 samples Homo sapiens
Gene expression pattern of primed human neutrophils
Neuenfeldt F et al. 2022, Cell Rep (pro-NETotic neutrophils via TNFR2)  · paper  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE127465 single-cell RNA-seq Homo sapiens; Mus musculus
Single cell transcriptomics of human and mouse lung cancers reveals conserved myeloid populations across individuals and species
Zilionis R et al. 2019, Immunity  · paper  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE249011 bulk and single-cell RNA-seq Homo sapiens; Mus musculus
Bulk and single-cell RNA sequencing of human and murine eosinophils
Jorssen J et al. 2024, Immunity (eosinophil development, single-cell proteomics and transcriptomics)  · paper  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE338556 single-cell RNA-seq Mus musculus
Single-cell RNA sequencing of mouse peripheral blood neutrophils before and one day after corneal injury
no linked publication in the GEO record on the date resolved  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary
GSE337147 non-coding RNA profiling by high throughput sequencing Homo sapiens
small-RNA-seq of nine primary human cell types exposed in vitro to methylprednisolone
no linked publication in the GEO record on the date resolved; neutrophils are among the nine cell types  · public at NCBI GEO  · accession resolved 2026-09-12 via eutils esummary

Public datasets on neutrophils, eosinophils and basophils. Every GEO accession resolved through NCBI eutils on the date shown; the series title is the one GEO returns, not a paraphrase.