Substances tested

What has been given to the granulocyte, and what the granulocyte did. Research reference, not medical advice.

All substances 10

Filgrastim (recombinant methionyl G-CSF) granulocyte colony-stimulating factor
acts on G-CSF receptor on neutrophil progenitors and mature neutrophils
Reduced chemotherapy-induced febrile neutropenia: at least one episode of fever with neutropenia in 40 percent of the G-CSF group versus 77 percent on placebo (p less than 0.001). Median duration of grade IV neutropenia (ANC under 0.5 x 10^9 per L) was one day with G-CSF versus six days with placebo.
dose: beginning day 4 through day 17 of a 21-day cycle; milligram dose not stated in the abstract  · human, 211 patients with small-cell lung cancer  · multicentre randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial  · Crawford J et al. 1991, N Engl J Med  · source
Mepolizumab anti-interleukin-5 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-5, the cytokine driving eosinophil production and survival
Reduced clinically significant exacerbations in severe eosinophilic asthma from 2.40 per patient per year on placebo to 1.24 at 75 mg (48 percent reduction, 95 percent CI 31 to 61, p less than 0.0001), 1.46 at 250 mg (39 percent reduction) and 1.15 at 750 mg (52 percent reduction, 36 to 64, p less than 0.0001).
dose: 75 mg, 250 mg or 750 mg intravenous, 13 infusions at 4-week intervals  · human, 621 patients aged 12 to 74  · multicentre double-blind placebo-controlled trial (DREAM), 81 centres in 13 countries  · Pavord ID et al. 2012, Lancet  · source
Mepolizumab anti-interleukin-5 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-5
Exacerbation rate reduced 47 percent (95 percent CI 29 to 61) with intravenous and 53 percent (37 to 65) with subcutaneous dosing versus placebo (p less than 0.001 for both). Exacerbations needing emergency care or hospitalisation fell 32 percent (intravenous) and 61 percent (subcutaneous). FEV1 at week 32 rose 100 mL more than placebo on the intravenous arm.
dose: 75 mg intravenous or 100 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks for 32 weeks  · human, 576 patients  · randomised double-blind double-dummy trial (MENSA)  · Ortega HG et al. 2014, N Engl J Med  · source
Benralizumab anti-interleukin-5 receptor alpha monoclonal antibody
acts on IL-5 receptor alpha on eosinophils; depletes eosinophils by antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity
In patients with blood eosinophils at least 300 cells per uL, the annual exacerbation rate over 48 weeks fell versus placebo on both schedules: rate ratio 0.55 (95 percent CI 0.42 to 0.71, p less than 0.0001) every 4 weeks and 0.49 (0.37 to 0.64, p less than 0.0001) every 8 weeks.
dose: 30 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks, or every 8 weeks after three loading doses at 4-week intervals, for 48 weeks  · human, 1205 randomised patients aged 12 to 75  · randomised double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial (SIROCCO), 374 sites in 17 countries  · Bleecker ER et al. 2016, Lancet  · source
Imatinib tyrosine kinase inhibitor
acts on FIP1L1-PDGFRalpha fusion kinase; 50 percent inhibitory concentration 3.2 nM
Nine of 11 patients with hypereosinophilic syndrome had responses lasting more than three months with the eosinophil count returning to normal. The FIP1L1-PDGFRA fusion, from an interstitial deletion on chromosome 4q12, was found in 9 of 16 patients and in 5 of the 9 durable responders. A T674I mutation at relapse confirmed the fusion kinase as the drug target.
dose: not stated in the abstract  · human, 11 patients treated  · clinical treatment series with molecular characterisation  · Cools J et al. 2003, N Engl J Med  · source
Dupilumab anti-interleukin-4 receptor alpha monoclonal antibody
acts on IL-4 receptor alpha, blocking IL-4 and IL-13 signalling upstream of eosinophil recruitment
Histologic remission in eosinophilic esophagitis reached 60 percent (25 of 42) on weekly dupilumab versus 5 percent (2 of 39) on placebo in Part A (difference 55 percentage points, 95 percent CI 40 to 71, p less than 0.001), and 59 percent weekly versus 6 percent placebo in Part B.
dose: 300 mg subcutaneous weekly, or 300 mg every 2 weeks, to week 24  · human, patients aged 12 and over  · three-part randomised phase 3 trial  · Dellon ES et al. 2022, N Engl J Med  · source
Tozorakimab anti-interleukin-33 monoclonal antibody
acts on interleukin-33, upstream of both eosinophilic and neutrophilic airway inflammation
In two replicate phase 3 COPD trials, annualised moderate or severe exacerbations among former smokers fell from 1.90 to 1.34 events (rate ratio 0.71, 95 percent CI 0.57 to 0.88, p = 0.002) in OBERON and from 2.07 to 1.37 (rate ratio 0.66, 0.55 to 0.80, p less than 0.001) in TITANIA. There were no eligibility criteria related to blood eosinophil count.
dose: 300 mg subcutaneous every 4 weeks for 52 weeks  · human, 1750 patients across two trials  · two replicate randomised placebo-controlled phase 3 trials (OBERON and TITANIA)  · Sciurba FC et al. 2026, N Engl J Med  · source
Dornase alfa (recombinant human DNase I) mucolytic nuclease
acts on extracellular DNA in airway secretions, much of it neutrophil-derived
Across 19 trials with 2565 participants, dornase alfa probably improved FEV1 versus placebo in trials from one month to two years, with a decrease in pulmonary exacerbations in trials of six months or longer. Voice alteration and rash were the only adverse events reported at increased frequency. Evidence was insufficient to place it above other hyperosmolar agents.
dose: not stated in the abstract; trial duration ranged from six days to three years  · human, 2565 participants with cystic fibrosis  · Cochrane systematic review of randomised and quasi-randomised trials  · Yang C, Montgomery M 2021, Cochrane Database Syst Rev  · source
PAD4 (peptidylarginine deiminase 4), genetic loss target validation, not a drug in this study
acts on PAD4, the enzyme that citrullinates histones during chromatin decondensation
PAD4 knockout neutrophils cannot form NETs after chemokine stimulation or incubation with bacteria and are deficient in NET-mediated bacterial killing, establishing PAD4 as essential for NET-mediated antibacterial defence. This is the target rationale behind PAD inhibitors; no inhibitor compound was dosed in this study.
dose: genetic knockout, no dose  · mouse  · PAD4 knockout mice, in vitro NET assays and an infection model  · Li P et al. 2010, J Exp Med  · source
Neutrophil activation (stimulus not named in the abstract) experimental activation leading to NET release
acts on granule proteins and chromatin
On activation, neutrophils release granule proteins and chromatin that form extracellular fibres binding Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria. These NETs degrade virulence factors and kill bacteria, and are abundant in vivo in experimental dysentery and spontaneous human appendicitis.
dose: not stated in the abstract  · human neutrophils in vitro; human appendicitis tissue; experimental dysentery  · in vitro activation, microscopy, and in vivo tissue  · Brinkmann V et al. 2004, Science  · source

Every row rests on a PubMed abstract read in full by Granulo on 2026-09-12; a dose the abstract does not state is written as such, never guessed. Research reference, not medical advice.